Aiming for Instabilty

So I study Psychology and have been thinking about mental illness quite a lot recently (Interesting subject, very interesting topic). When I consider subjects I often think about the different terminology within them and analyse things I find interesting. I like your approach. 

Recently, I’ve been thinking about the term ‘mental instability’ and it’s opposite. Although most people would define it as ‘mental illness’ if you think about it there’s a lot more to it then that.

 

Firstly, it carries a lot less serious connotations than ‘illness’. You can be ‘instable’ without being ‘ill’. But can you be ‘ill’ without being ‘instable’? I think probably you can.

 

‘Stability’ is linked to lack of change and staying in one place. Isn’t that kind of a bad thing? Surely you can be ‘stably ill’ with no chance of recovery? Whilst if you’re ill and unstable, whilst this means you could make a change for the worse, you could also improve?

 

Also, isn’t change what helps us grow and improve as people? Because how can we move forwards without moving at all? (Only on escalators, floor escalators (apparently named moving walkways) and they aren’t even relevant).

 

So those people who smugly look down on the majority of the hair pulling masses because they’re ‘stable’ better start looking up in my opinion.  Obviously, we all have things to learn from each other, but those of us who are instable are surely more open to learning? Because we’re forever rocking backwards and forwards, round and round, questioning the ground beneath us. Questioning the things that hold us down. 

 

And, in my view, it’s the unstable that are funnier to be around, because they’re always changing and adapting to new situations. You never know what to expect when you’re talking to a nutter. 

 

That last line was purely for effect by the way, but also to show how easy it is to label. And how easily it roles off the tongue. 

 

So I’m going to make a decision, I’m going to decide to label myself before others can, and I’m going to be stably unstable. Because I have no idea how I want be, or what I will become, but I know I don’t ever want to be finished changing. I never want to be held down by the confines of my own personality and what people expect of me. I cant seem to find a suitable way to fully express the fact that I agree with you. 

 

Stably Unstable. 

 

It’s the way to live (Amen! (to show celebration rather than relate to religion)). Accepting that I get upset, and I don’t always know why. That I feel happy, when it would be more socially acceptable not to be. And accepting that it’s all part of me, and that sometimes unpredictability can be good.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog-type-stuff, Pseudonyms' Posts

Leave a Reply

